Nuclear sites

The three countries that neighbour the Grand Duchy of Luxembourg all have nuclear installations located within a 100 km radius that produce over 10,000 megawatts of electricity (MWe).

Cattenom nuclear power station

The closest nuclear power station, Cattenom, is located in France, 9 km south of the border and 25 km from Luxembourg City. This nuclear power station has four pressurised water reactors (PWR, or réacteurs à eau pressurisée, REP, in French) with an individual output of 1,300 MWe.

Chooz nuclear power station

There is a second French nuclear power station in Chooz, 70 km west of the border. The station has two sections (Chooz A, a Franco-Belgian project, and Chooz B, a French project) with three 1,450 MWe nuclear reactors.

Tihange nuclear power station

In Belgium, the Tihange nuclear power station is located 65 km north-west of the Grand Duchy of Luxembourg. The three reactors have an overall output of 3,016 MWe and account for around 30% of Belgian electricity production.

Philippsburg and Biblis nuclear power stations

There are two nuclear power stations in Germany, located about 150 km to the east of the country: Biblis and Philippsburg. The former was shut down in March 2011, when the latter's first reactor was also shut down. The closure of the second reactor is planned for 2017.

 

Last update

Nuklearanlagen

Die drei Nachbarländer des Großherzogtums Luxemburg betreiben Nuklearanlagen, deren Standorte in einem Umkreis von 100 km liegen und mehr als 10.000 Megawatt (MWe) Strom erzeugen.

Kernkraftwerk Cattenom

Das am nächsten gelegene Kernkraftwerk Cattenom befindet sich in Frankreich, 9 km südlich der Grenze und 25 km von Luxemburg-Stadt entfernt. Dieses Kernkraftwerk verfügt über 4 Druckwasserreaktoren (DWR oder Pressurized water reactor, PWR) mit einer Leistung von jeweils 1.300 MWe.

Kernkraftwerk Chooz

Das zweite Kernkraftwerk auf französischem Staatsgebiet befindet sich in Chooz 70 km westlich der Grenze. Es besteht aus 2 Blöcken (Chooz A, ein französisch-belgisches Projekt und Chooz B, ein französisches Projekt) und umfasst 3 Kernreaktoren à 1.450 MWe.

Kernkraftwerk Tihange

Dieses Kernkraftwerk liegt im belgischen Tihange 65 km nordwestlich des Großherzogtums Luxemburg. Die 3 Reaktoren mit einer Gesamtleistung von 3.016 MWe produzieren fast 30 % der belgischen Stromerzeugung.

Kernkraftwerke Philippsburg und Biblis

Diese beiden deutschen Kernkraftwerke liegen in einer Entfernung von etwa 150 km östlich der Grenze: es handelt sich um das seit März 2011 stillgelegte KKW Biblis und das KKW Philippsburg, dessen Reaktor Nummer 1 im März 2011 stillgelegt wurde und dessen Reaktor Nummer 2 2017 folgen soll.

Dernière modification le