Alert level 4

Alert level 4 applies when the terrorist threat that is subject to analysis is judged to be concrete and imminent, or when one or several terrorist acts have been committed on national territory. It corresponds to the VERY SERIOUS threat level.

It entails mobilisation of all the response capabilities available and the application of particularly restrictive measures to counter the threat and, in the event of an attack, to intervene rapidly and in a coordinated manner.

Exceptional temporary measures are adopted in order to cope with a highly sensitive situation or context. Alert level 4 is intended to be of limited duration. It may be activated over the whole territory or, if it is necessary to reinforce safety measures on an occasional basis, over a limited geographical area and/or in certain sectors of activity. The main aim of these measures is to reduce the consequences of the terrorist activities and ensure a rapid return to normal.

Terrorist Threat Evaluation Cell (CEMT)

The CEMT is composed of the State Intelligence Service, the Grand-Ducal Police/Anti-Terrorist Cell, and the State Prosecutor in Luxembourg City. It assesses the terrorist threat. The head of the CEMT confers with the HCPN on the information to be reported to the head of the Crisis Cell (CC). It is placed under the responsibility of the State Prosecutor in Luxembourg City.

Joint operational command post

A joint operational command post (PC) is activated. Its members represent the Grand-Ducal Police, the armed forces, the Customs and Excise Agency, the Rescue Services Agency, the State Prosecutor, the HCPN, and the Communication and Information Cell.

The PC is headed by the Grand-Ducal Police and tasked with the operational coordination and monitoring of the tactical commanders deployed in the field who are responsible for implementation of the supervision, protection and rescue measures with a view to achieving the strategic aims.

Crisis Cell (CC)

The Crisis Cell is activated by the Prime Minister and convened by the High Commissioner for National Protection as soon as the Government decides on a level 4 alert or if a crisis is imminent or has already occurred.

The Crisis Cell is composed of the following people at the least:

  • the High Commissioner for National Protection;
  • the Director General of the Grand-Ducal Police;
  • the Director of the State Intelligence Service;
  • the Director of the Rescue Services Agency;
  • the Director of the Customs and Excise Agency;
  • the Director of the Crisis Communication Service;
  • the Director of the National Health Directorate;
  • the Chief of Staff of the armed forces;
  • the Chief State Prosecutor;
  • a representative of the Ministry of Internal Security;
  • a representative of the Ministry of Foreign and European Affairs;
  • a representative of the Ministry of Justice;
  • a representative of the Ministry of Home Affairs.

Under the authority of the Government, the Crisis Cell adopts the strategic decisions to initiate and coordinate all the measures intended to deal with the crisis and its effects and promote a return to normal. It prepares the necessary decisions and submits them to the Government for approval.

The members of the Crisis Cell can be assisted or represented by their substitutes. Depending on the circumstances, the Crisis Cell can be expanded to include experts from the CBRN sector and representatives of other ministerial departments, administrations and services involved.

The Crisis Cell operates throughout the duration of the crisis, until the situation returns to normal.

Operational Cell

The Crisis Cell can appoint an operational cell to execute, implement and monitor the ordered measures and activities.

Communication/Information Cell

The Communication/Information Cell (Cellule Communication/Information - CCI) is in charge of communication and providing information for the media and citizen. The horizontal coordination of organising external communication falls to the Crisis Communication Service.

Last update

Alarmstufe 4

Alarmstufe 4 gilt, wenn sich herausstellt, dass die untersuchte terroristische Bedrohung konkret und unmittelbar ist oder wenn im Staatsgebiet bereits Terrorakte verübt wurden. Sie entspricht der Bedrohungsstufe SEHR HOCH.

Diese Stufe beinhaltet die Mobilisierung aller verfügbaren Einsatzkräfte und die Ergreifung besonders restriktiver Maßnahmen zur Bekämpfung der Bedrohung und zum schnellen und koordinierten Eingreifen bei Angriffen.

Es werden außergewöhnliche und vorübergehende Maßnahmen getroffen, anhand derer äußerst sensible Situationen oder Kontexte gehandhabt werden können. Alarmstufe 4 kann zeitlich begrenzt werden. Sie kann für das gesamte Staatsgebiet oder einen begrenzten geografischen Bereich bzw. bestimmte Wirtschaftsbereiche erklärt werden, wenn eine punktuelle Verschärfung der Sicherheitsmaßnahmen von Nöten ist. Ziel dieser Maßnahmen ist die Minderung der Auswirkungen der terroristischen Aktivitäten und die schnelle Wiederherstellung des Normalzustands.

Kontrollstelle zur Bewertung der terroristischen Bedrohung (CEMT)

Die Kontrollstelle zur Bewertung der terroristischen Bedrohung besteht aus dem Nachrichtendienst, der Polizei/Antiterror-Einheit sowie dem Staatsanwalt von Luxemburg. Sie nimmt eine Bewertung der terroristischen Bedrohung vor. Der Vorsitzende der CEMT spricht sich mit dem HCPN bezüglich der dem Vorsitzenden des Krisenstabs zu liefernden Informationen ab. Sie untersteht der Verantwortung des Staatsanwalts von Luxemburg.

Gemeinsamer operativer Kommandoposten

Es wird ein gemeinsamer operativer Kommandoposten (PC) aktiviert. Er setzt sich aus der Polizei, der Armee, der Zoll- und Verbrauchsteuerverwaltung, der Rettungsdienstverwaltung, einem Vertreter der Staatsanwaltschaft, dem HCPN und einem Vertreter der Stelle für Kommunikation und Information zusammen.

Den Vorsitz des Kommandopostens führt die Polizei, und seine Aufgabe ist die operative Koordination und Kontrolle der taktischen Verantwortlichen, die vor Ort berufen werden und für die Ausführung des Systems zur Überwachung, zum Schutz und zur Rettung im Hinblick auf die Erreichung der strategischen Ziele zuständig sind.

Krisenstab (CC)

Der Krisenstab (Cellule de crise, CC) wird vom Premierminister aktiviert und vom Hochkommissar für nationale Sicherheit einberufen, sobald die Regierung eine Anhebung auf Alarmstufe 4 beschließt bzw. im Falle einer bevorstehenden oder eingetretenen Krise.

Der Krisenstab setzt sich mindestens aus folgenden Personen zusammen:

  • dem Hochkommissar für nationale Sicherheit,
  • dem Generaldirektor der Polizei,
  • dem Direktor des luxemburgischen Nachrichtendienstes,
  • dem Direktor der Rettungsdienstverwaltung,
  • dem Direktor der Zoll- und Verbrauchsteuerverwaltung,
  • dem Direktor der Krisenkommunikationsstelle des Staatsministeriums,
  • dem Direktor der Gesundheitsbehörde,
  • dem Generalstabschef der Armee,
  • dem Generalstaatsanwalt,
  • einem Vertreter des Ministeriums für innere Sicherheit,
  • einem Vertreter des Ministeriums für auswärtige und europäische Angelegenheiten,
  • einem Vertreter des Ministeriums der Justiz,
  • einem Vertreter des Ministeriums des Innern.

Unter der Leitung der Regierung trifft der Krisenstab die strategischen Entscheidungen, um sämtliche Maßnahmen zur Bewältigung der Krise und ihrer Auswirkungen bzw. zur Wiederherstellung des Normalzustands einzuleiten und zu koordinieren. Er bereitet die anstehenden Entscheidungen vor und legt sie der Regierung zur Genehmigung vor.

Die Mitglieder des Krisenstabs können sich von ihren Vertretern unterstützen bzw. vertreten lassen. Der Krisenstab kann entsprechend den Umständen erweitert werden und insbesondere durch CBRN-Fachkräfte sowie durch Vertreter anderer betroffener ministerieller Abteilungen, Verwaltungen und Dienststellen ergänzt werden.

Der Krisenstab ist während der gesamten Dauer der Krise bis zur Wiederherstellung des Normalzustands tätig.

„Operative“ Stelle

Der Krisenstab kann eine „operative“ Stelle (Cellule opérationnelle, CO) u. a. mit der Ausführung, Umsetzung und Beaufsichtigung der angeordneten Maßnahmen und Handlungen beauftragen.

Stelle für Kommunikation/Information (CCI)

Die Stelle für Kommunikation/Information (Cellule communication/information, CCI) ist mit der Kommunikation und Information der Medien und Bürger beauftragt. Für die horizontale Koordinierung der Organisation der externen Kommunikation ist die Krisenkommunikationsstelle zuständig.

Zum letzten Mal aktualisiert am